Happiest when Alone! Lord Byron Yearns for Some Peaceful Confusion…

As we have now left Lady Byron to enjoy a peaceful repast in the Dining Room here at Piccadilly Terrace, it’s now time to pay a fugitive visit to His Lordship’s Library which is situated on the Piano Nobile.

You may wonder at my use of the the word ‘fugitive’ but when you read on, all will hopefully be explained!

library-the-library-13-piccadilly-terrace-circa-1815

“I do not know that I am happiest when alone; but this I am sure of that I never am long in the society even of her I love, (God knows too well, and the Devil probably too,) without a yearning for the company of my lamp and my utterly confused and tumbled-over library..”

Lord Byron (April 1814)

Given what we have learnt about Byron’s quick temper with his fondness for solitude and with a pistol within easy reach…

library-a-pistol-awaits-13-piccadilly-terrace-circa-1815

I shall bid you a fond adieu for now!

Tee

Sources used:

Byron’s Letters and Jounals Vol 3 1813-1814 Ed Leslie A. Marchand (London: John Murray 1974)

'Of All Romances in Miniature... Perhaps this is the Best Shape in which Romance Can Appear.' ~ Lord Byron

